Ice-Water Cake with Coconut Frosting

A very good white cake, when made with spelt flour and dairy free. I imagine it would be excellent the conventional way, with real butter and cake flour.  Spelt is more sticky before baking, and more crumbly after baking, so if it turned out for me, it should for you.

Kristina's Bd. Party 088

I got this recipe from a very battered “Mennonite Community cookbook” by one “Mary Emma Showalter”.  I will type the recipe as I found it, with my changes in parentheses.

040

Ice Water Cake

submitted by Mrs. S.J.Bucher, Harman,W.Va

1/2 cup shortening  (Dairy-free margarine)         1 1/2 cups icewater 

2 cups sugar  (1 3/4)                                           1 teaspoon vanilla

3 1/2 cups cake flour  (white spelt)                     1/4 teaspoon almond extract

3/4 teaspoons salt                                               4 egg whites

3 teaspoons baking powder

 Cream shortening. Add sugar gradually and beat until fluffy. Sift flour; measure and add salt and baking powder. Sift again.

Add sifted dry ingredients alternately with ice water and flavoring. Beat thoroughly after each addition.

Fold in stiffly beaten egg whites. Pour into greased layer pans.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Makes 2 (8 inch) layers. An excellent white cake.

****

Kristina's Bd. Party 087

Now, for the frosting, I will save myself a lot of time by linking you to “Pranee’s Thai Kitchen“, which is where I found it. The only things I changed were  (1) adding lemon flavouring in lieu of coconut or jasmine, (2) not using coconut cream. All the coconut milk we had was low-fat, blech. I used something called “Cream of Coconut” instead. And (3) not mixing any of the shredded coconut in. I did sprinkle it on the outside.   Oh, and I used margarine (dairy-free) and rice milk.

Even with my substitutions, I thought it a lovely recipe, not too sweet. I mean, you could taste things besides sugar, which is how frosting should be.

Enjoy!  (Oh, and the cake didn’t last a day. It got eaten.)

Leave a Reply

