Aunt Justina’s White Cookies

My Aunt Justina would serve these cookies, still cold from the freezer, to us as part of our breakfast when we would visit her. I thought it was like magic, how she could get chocolate frosting *inside* the cookie!  I’m sorry there aren’t better pictures, but taking them was kind of a last minute thing.  I made these up, you see, while I was babysitting one evening, and frosted them in between watching Pippi Longstockings. I only thought about it the next day, after I was eating one of the last ones.002

 

Now, there are two recipes. This is the one my Aunt Justina used, which is *almost* the same as the one I used. I needed one that didn’t require sour cream, being as I had to make mine dairy-free, and it’s difficult to find a good sour cream substitute. I found my recipe off of Mennonite Girls Can Cook, but I promise you, Aunt Justina’s are just as good.009

Aunt Justina’s Cookies (With Chocolate Filling) ~From “Farm House Cooking”

DOUGH

1 C. Sugar

1 C. Margarine

1 C. Sour Cream

1/2 C. Milk

2 Eggs

2 tsp. Vanilla

3 1/2 — 5 Cups Flour

6 tsp. Baking Powder

1 tsp. Baking Soda

FILLING

3/4 C. Sugar

1/2 C. Each Milk, Flour, Cocoa, and Margarine

1/2 tsp. Vanilla

METHOD

Mix Filling and let stand until thick. Cream margarine and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Sift dry ingredients and add alternately with milk and sour cream. Dough should be soft. Add extra flour if necessary. Chill (I pop mine in the freezer) and roll out. Cut w/ cookie cutter.  Note: I used a wide-mouth canning ring. It worked fine. Put a tsp. of filling on cookie and top w. another cookie.003 Bake at 350 ’till done. They should be ever so lightly brown at the edges, and shouldn’t look shiny. Remove from pans. If you break one open when they’re hot the filling will run out, so be careful.  When cool,  frost with white frosting and dip in coconut.

~~~

Seriously, folks, these cookies didn’t last long.  And the plain dough is great for cutout cookies.007

 

Happy baking!

3 thoughts on “Aunt Justina’s White Cookies

Leave a Reply

